Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) - find out more

All schools and Ofsted registered early years providers must follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), this includes childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.


What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

It is a set of standards for learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

What are the EYFS Principles?

There are four themes set out in the EYFS

  • A Unique Child. Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.

  • Positive Relationships

  • Enabling Environments

  • Learning and Development

What subject will my child learn?

Your child will mostly be taught through games and play.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language

  • physical development

  • personal, social and emotional development

  • literacy

  • mathematics

  • understanding the world

  • expressive arts and design

What are development areas?

Children develop skills in five main areas:

  • Cognitive Development. This is the child's ability to learn and solve problems.

  • Social and Emotional Development.

  • Speech and Language Development.

  • Fine Motor Skill Development.

  • Gross Motor Skill Development.

Will my child be tested?

The EYFS profile is a summary of your child's attainment at the end of Reception.

It's not a test, your child can't pass or fail.

The profile measures your child's attainment in areas of learning, known as Early Learning Goals (ELGs), these are communication and language development.

The Early Learning Goals (ELG) can be found in the Early Years Framework.

Page last reviewed: 27/03/2023

Skip back to top of page