SEND in the Early Years

SEND support is embedded within the Early Help process.  The Early  Help Assessment form will be essential for:

When an additional need is identified for a child or young person, whether social, emotional, developmental or educational, an Early Help Assessment form can be started to gather information.  The emphasis is on assessing all aspects of a child or young person's strengths, needs and circumstances, developing a plan to meet identified needs and reviewing progress systematically.

If, following the assess-plan-do-review process, the setting required support from the Learning Improvement Service or the Inclusion Service, eg: early years area SENCO, specialist advisory teacher or educational psychologist to meet the needs of the child or young person then the following should be undertaken:

  • Fully complete the EHA form
  • Decide on one service to request
  • Gain written parent/carer consent
  • Send the assessment form to the local SEND office with supporting evidence.
  • Register the assessment with the Early Help Team at: early.help@westmorlandandfurness.gov.uk

For further information, please view Cumbria's CSCP website.

SEND Early Years Resources
Early Years Team:

Early Years Team Manager
Amanda Macdonald – Amanda.Macdonald@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 07785 456 853


Early Years and Childcare Advisers
Chris Blair – Christine.Blair@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 07967 050 386
Karen Cove – Karen.Clove@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 07966 111 871
Laura Kendall – Laura.Kendall@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 07824 834 894


Early Years Advisers/Area SENCos
Mary Cooper – Mary.Cooper@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 07818 012 576
Heather Dakin – Heather.Dakin@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 07760 991 500
Sue Hunter – Sue.Hunter@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 07971 446 053
Rachel Ramsbottom – Rachel.Ramsbottom@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 07973 811 191
Margaret Thornley – Margaret.Thornley@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 07768 888 591


Early Years Finance Officer
Ailsa Witchell – Ailsa.Witchell@WestmorlandandFurness.gov.uk - 01228 221 179

Page last reviewed: 14/12/2023

Skip back to top of page